Your situation won’t improve by waiting Call Now

What can we do for you? Call us to find out.

800.928.1511

San Francisco | East Bay | Marin | Peninsula | Central Valley

Some states may fine you up to $1000 for not riding with a helmet. State helmet laws and violations vary by each state, and your state may carry a stiffer fine than you might think.  Also, this is especially important if you are planning to travel across state lines. If you’re planning a road trip that crosses these borders, or would like to learn more about your own state’s helmet laws, check out our chart and infographic below.

Motorcycle Helmet Laws

 



Embed the graphic by copying and pasting this code

 Chart of motorcycle helmet laws by state

Type of Helmet Law Age Range Maximum Fine Points on License Jail Time Eye Protection Required
Helmet Laws in Alabama Universal All  $      100.00 Not Specified Less than 10 days No
Helmet Laws in Alaska Age-Specific Younger than 18  $      300.00 Not Specified None Yes
Helmet Laws in Arizona Age-Specific Younger than 18  $      250.00 Not Specified None Yes
Helmet Laws in Arkansas Age-Specific Younger than 21  $        50.00 Not Specified Less than 30 days Yes
Helmet Laws in California Universal All  $      100.00 No None No
Helmet Laws in Colorado Age-Specific Younger than 18  $      100.00 No None Yes
Helmet Laws in Connecticut Age-Specific Younger than 18  $      100.00 No None Yes
Helmet Laws in Delaware Age-Specific Younger than 18  $        90.00 No None Yes
Helmet Laws in District of Columbia Universal All  $        25.00 No None Yes
Helmet Laws in Florida Age-Specific Younger than 21  $        30.00 Not Specified None Yes
Helmet Laws in Georgia Universal All  $   1,000.00 Not Specified Less than 12 days Yes
Helmet Laws in Hawaii Age-Specific Younger than 18  $   1,000.00 Not Specified None Yes
Helmet Laws in Idaho Age-Specific Younger than 18  $   1,000.00 No None No
Helmet Laws in Illinois None N/A  $               - N/A N/A Yes
Helmet Laws in Indiana Age-Specific Younger than 18  $      500.00 4 points None Yes
Helmet Laws in Iowa None N/A  $               - N/A N/A No
Helmet Laws in Kansas Age-Specific Younger than 18  $      500.00 Not Specified None Yes
Helmet Laws In Kentucky Age-Specific Younger than 21  $      100.00 Not Specified None Yes
Helmet Laws in Louisiana Universal All  $        50.00 Not Specified None Yes
Helmet Laws in Maine Age-Specific Younger than 18  $      500.00 No None No
Helmet Laws in Maryland Universal All  $      500.00 No None No
Helmet Laws in Massachusetts Universal All  $        35.00 Not Specified None Yes
Helmet Laws in Michigan Universal All  $               - Not Specified None Yes
Helmet Laws in Minnesota Age-Specific Younger than 18  $      300.00 Not Specified None Yes
Helmet Laws in Mississippi Universal All  $      100.00 Not Specified Less than 12 days No
Helmet Laws in Missouri Universal All  $        25.00 No None No
Helmet Laws in Montana Age-Specific Younger than 18  $          5.00 Not Specified None No
Helmet Laws in Nebraska Universal All  $        50.00 No None No
Helmet Laws in Nevada Universal All  $      100.00 2 points Less than 6 months Yes
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in New Hampshire None N/A  $               - N/A N/A Yes
Helmet Laws in New Jersey Universal All  $      100.00 Not Specified None Yes
Helmet Laws in New Mexico Age-Specific Younger than 18  $      300.00 Not Specified Less than 90 days Yes
Helmet Laws in New York Universal All  $      100.00 Not Specified Less than 30 days Yes
Helmet Laws in North Carolina Universal All  $        25.50 No None No
Helmet Laws in North Dakota Age-Specific Younger than 18  $      500.00 2 points None No
Helmet Laws in Ohio Age-Specific Younger than 18  $      150.00 No None Yes
Helmet Laws in Oklahoma Age-Specific Younger than 18  $      500.00 Not Specified Less than 10 days Yes
Helmet Laws in Oregon Universal All  $        90.00 Not Specified None No
Helmet Laws in Pennsylvania Age-Specific Younger than 21  $        25.00 Not Specified None Yes
Helmet Laws in Rhode Island Age-Specific Younger than 21  $        85.00 Not Specified None Yes
Helmet Laws in South Carolina Age-Specific Younger than 21  $      100.00 Not Specified Less than 30 days Yes
Helmet Laws in South Dakota Age-Specific Younger than 18  $      500.00 Not Specified Less than 30 days Yes
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in Tennessee Universal All  $        50.00 Not Specified Less than 30 days Yes
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in Texas Age-Specific Younger than 21  $        50.00 Not Specified None No
Helmet Laws in Utah Age-Specific Younger than 18  $      750.00 Not Specified Less than 90 days No
Helmet Laws in Vermont Universal All  $      100.00 Not Specified None Yes
Helmet Laws in Virginia Universal All  $      250.00 Not Specified None Yes
Helmet Laws in Washington Universal All  $        42.00 Not Specified None Yes
Helmet Laws in West Virginia Universal All  $      100.00 Not Specified Less than 10 days Yes
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in Wisconsin Age-Specific Younger than 18  $      200.00 No None Yes
Helmet Laws in Wyoming Age-Specific Younger than 18  $      200.00 Not Specified Less than 20 days No

About Michael Padway

Michael Padway is a motorcycle accident attorney who lives and breathes motorcycles. He has been practicing law for over 35 years and riding for even longer. Riding motorcycles, writing about motorcycles and defending motorcyclists is what he does, and what he does best.